Winners of the Azriel Morag Award for Innovation 2015

This year's winners of the Azirel Morag Award for Innovation were announced at the IGeLU conference in Budapest, in September 2015. The recipients are:
Kasper Løvschal and Karsten Kryger Hansen Karsten and Kasper were chosen for their developments made on Primo and SFX and for their outstanding contribution to the creative atmosphere in the Primo and SFX communities
Kasper and Karsten focused their current customizations around three areas; the search experience, enriching the record and provide additional options centered around each record.  To enhance the search experience they added pagination (this feature was later added by ExLibris out-of-the-box), various tooltips to guide the user while searching for understanding facets, advanced search options etc.
To enrich the records they included various additional sources, including Primo itself, to show all years in FRRB-groups, but also included additional services like Google Books and table of content for journals from JournalTOCs. Primo is also integrated with the shelf sign system allowing us to display the exact shelf number. they also display up to date branch information in the Primo location tab including opening hours.
For each record they provide some additional features not available in the standard Primo system.Some code is shared on GitHub or Developer Network, and some is not shared at the current moment. Kasper and Karsten strive to announce newly developed features on the Primo mailing list, and they are happy to share code before it is published in ways that are more formal.




Jiřka Kende, former IGeLU chair received a Lifetime Achievement award for his enormous contribution to the Ex Libris community and for his leadership and outstanding contribution to the success of IGeLU.


"…Jirka's devotion, charming personality and hard labor has had a tremendous impact in developing IGeLU into a successful, active and influential User Group and community."

IGeLU steering committee members

Matti Shem Tov, Ex Libris CEO, and Azriel Morag's daughters, present the Awards for Innovation to Kasper Løvschal and Karsten Kryger Hansen; and a lifetime achievement award to Jiri Kende.